The Six Crowns: Fair Wind to Widdershins

Allan Jones and Gary Chalk
HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 9780062006264

Reviewed by Sophia McElroy (age 9) for Reader Views (2/12)

The search for the Six Crowns continues! In this second book by Allan Jones and Gary Chalk, Trundle, Esmeralda , Jack, and Pursy are now on the hunt for the Iron Crown. They must go to a faraway place known as “Widdershins!” The three friends - Trundle, Esmeralda and Jack - are on a search for the second crown. Pursy tries to help his friends find the crown, but it could be risky.

A scary and exciting part of the adventure was when Trundle was searching for the crown near a giant clock and all of a sudden the statues that were on the clock came to life! They were trying to keep him from getting the crown. One of the statues caught up with him, grabbed his leg and hung him upside down from the top of the clock.

I have read both stories of the Six Crowns series and enjoy them both equally! I love the illustrations! I will keep “The Six Crowns: Fair Wind to Widdershins” around to read over and over.

Read interview with author

Make Comments on blog